Women's Basketball

Applin, Bucs announce 2016-17 Big South Conference schedule

Applin, Bucs announce 2016-17 Big South Conference schedule

CHARLESTON, S.C. - Head Coach Fred Applin announced the 2016-17 Charleston Southern women's basketball conference schedule on Wednesday morning. The 18-game conference schedule features a double-round robin slate over a nine week period beginning on January 3 against Liberty.

The Bucs enter the season looking to build off the successes of this past year that saw CSU advance to the quarterfinals of the Big South Championships. CSU returns the bulk of its team, including redshirt senior guard Alyssa Mann, as the Bucs look to continue to grow in Applin's fifth season on the sidelines.

All home midweek Big South games in the Buc Dome will be set for 7 p.m. CSU will host its weekend conference games at 3 p.m.

2016-17 Charleston Southern Women's Basketball Schedule

The Big South Conference unveiled the full 2016-17 women's basketball composite league schedule.  The 90-game double-round robin slate over a nine-week period begins on Tuesday, Jan. 3 with all 10 teams in action, and each member will play an 18-game schedule for the first time since the 2012-13 campaign.  This year marks the first time since 2010-11 that the conference season will start in January.

The Big South will continue to utilize its Tuesday-Saturday format that has been in place since 2014-15, with the exception of the final week of the season, when weekday games will be contested on Monday, Feb. 27.  In addition, two to-be-determined Saturday conference games will move to Sunday to accommodate broadcasts on the American Sports Network (ASN). 

The 2017 Big South Women's Basketball Championship will be contested in the Commonwealth of Virginia in its entirety for the first time since 2002, as Liberty University will host the four-day event Thursday-Sunday, March 9-12.  Two first round games open the Championship on March 9 and will be broadcast on the Big South Network, followed by the quarterfinals (March 10), semifinals (March 11) and finals (March 12) on ESPN3.

View: Mobile | Desktop