CSU draws No. 8 seed in 2017 Big South Championship; hosts Longwood Tuesday in first round

CSU draws No. 8 seed in 2017 Big South Championship; hosts Longwood Tuesday in first round

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Charleston Southern is the No. 8 seed in the 2017 Big South Championship and will host No. 9 seed Longwood in first round play Tuesday at the Buc Dome. Tipoff is slated for 7 p.m. and the game will be broadcast on the Big South Network, with the winner advancing to play at top-seeded Winthrop in Thursday's quarterfinals.

2017 Big South Championship Bracket

First Round Ticket Info (Tuesday, 7 p.m. at Buc Dome)

CSU tied Campbell for seventh place in the final Big South regular season standings. The Fighting Camels own the tiebreaker and, as a result, are the No. 7 seed. Since the teams split the season series, the next tie break was record against teams at the top of the standings on down.  Both teams went winless against the top three teams, leaving fourth-place Gardner-Webb as the determining factor.  Campbell went 1-1 over GWU, while CSU was 0-2.

CSU swept the season series with Longwood, rolling to a 76-61 home win on Jan. 21 before holding on for an 86-78 road victory to close the regular season. Longwood has ousted CSU from the conference tournament each of the last two years.

Winthrop and UNC Asheville tied for the regular season championship at 15-3, and the Eagles are the No. 1 seed with the Bulldogs receiving the No. 2 seed.

As the No. 1 seed, Winthrop will host the quarterfinals and semifinals, March 2-3, while the highest remaining seed will host the Championship game on Sunday, March 5 at 1:00pm on ESPN.  In addition, the Eagles have secured the Big South's automatic bid to the NIT should they not win the Conference Tournament.

Winthrop is the No. 1 seed for the first time since 2007, and have captured back-to-back Big South regular-season titles -- an achievement the Eagles last accomplished from 2006-08.  Asheville clinched its first regular-season crown since 2011-12.  It is the conference's fourth time with co-champions in the past five seasons.

Liberty is the No. 3 seed with its 14-4 conference record, and it is the Flames' highest seeding since 2011.  Gardner-Webb locked in the No. 4 seed with its 11-7 league finish, followed by High Point at No. 5 (9-9) and Radford at No. 6 (8-10).  The top six teams earned byes into the quarterfinals.

No. 7 Campbell will entertain No. 10 Presbyterian in Tuesday's other first round game. The winner of that game earns a date with No. 2 UNC Asheville on Thursday at 1 p.m. in the first of four quarterfinal games. No. 3 Liberty will play No. 6 Radford at 3 p.m., while the 7 p.m. game will feature No. 1 Winthrop vs. the CSU-Longwood winner. No. 4 Gardner-Webb squares off against No. 5 Radford in the nightcap, scheduled for 9 p.m.

The two first round games on Feb. 28 will be broadcast live on the Big South Network and Roku.  The 2017 Big South Men's Basketball Championship will continue with the quarterfinals on Thursday, March 2 and semifinals on Friday, March 3 with both days being carried live on ESPN3 and WatchESPN.  The Championship game will be contested Sunday, March 5 live on ESPN at 1:00pm.  The Big South's Tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament.  The Conference Championship schedule is as follows:

First Round – Tuesday, Feb. 28 – Big South Network/Roku

Game 1: #10 Presbyterian College at #7 Campbell, 7:00pm

Game 2: #9 Longwood at #8 Charleston Southern, 7:00pm

Quarterfinals – Thursday, March 2 – ESPN3

Game 3: #2 UNC Asheville vs. #7/10 winner, 1:00pm

Game 4: #3 Liberty vs. #6 Radford, 3:00pm

Game 5: #1 Winthrop vs. #8/9 winner, 7:00pm

Game 6: #4 Gardner-Webb vs. #5 High Point, 9:00pm

Semifinals - Friday, March 3 – ESPN3

Game 7:  Semifinals – Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner, 6:00pm

Game 8:  Semifinals – Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 winner, 8:00pm

Championship - Sunday, March 5 – ESPN

Game 9:  Championship – Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 winner, 1:00pm

View: Mobile | Desktop