Ellis selected as finalist for the 2017 Blanchard-Rogers Award

Ellis selected as finalist for the 2017 Blanchard-Rogers Award

GREENVILLE, S.C. - Charleston Southern defensive end Anthony Ellis was selected as a finalist for the 2017 Blanchard-Rogers Award presented by Hale's Jewelers, as announced by the South Carolina Football Hall of Fame (SCFHOF) on Wednesday afternoon. Ellis joins 12 players who have been named to the list that goes out to the most outstanding collegiate player of the year that has South Carolina ties.

Ellis is on the verge of becoming the Big South Conference's first-ever 25 sack/50 tackle for loss player in conference history heading into the final two games of the season. The Big South Preseason Defensive Player of the Year and a Buck Buchanan Award candidate, Ellis is second all-time in both categories in conference play with 23.5 career sacks and 48.0 tackles for loss. He trails Gardner-Webb's Brian Johnston on the tackle for loss chart (53.5) and Liberty's Chima Uzowihe on the sack list (25.0). Ellis can join Johnston as the only players with 20.0 sacks and 50.0 tackles for loss.

Ellis recorded a Big South single-game record 5.5 tackles for loss this past Saturday at Gardner-Webb. He bested the old mark of 5.0, accomplished seven times in conference history and last by Kennesaw State's Tonarius Portress in 2016. Ellis' 5.5 tackles for loss included 2.5 sacks, which pushed him atop the conference with 8.0 this season to become just the second Big South player with three 7.0-sack seasons.

The SCFHOF allows its supporting members (anyone who purchases a membership, sports media, and its Boards and Executive Team) to vote annually for this award.  Online voting at www.scfootballhof.org will close on December 11, 2017. 

The Blanchard-Rogers Trophy is awarded at the organization's annual Enshrinement Banquet on April 19, 2018, in Greenville, SC.  This past April, former Clemson standout quarterback Deshaun Watson was honored alongside Tony Blanchard (Doc Blanchard's son), legendary Gamecock George Rogers, and Lucian Lee of Hale's Jewelers with the inaugural trophy.  The Blanchard-Rogers Trophy is handcrafted by local artist Ryan Calloway of Creative Iron Works.  This will be the fifth straight year the organization has honored the collegiate player of the year in its six-year history.

Learn more about supporting the SCFHOF in "Making A Difference Through Football" at www.scfootballhof.org and follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter @scfootballhof.

The SCFHOF is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit tax-exempt organization whose mission is to honor South Carolina football legends, support player career transitions, improve player safety and promote the game of football and South Carolina.

The Blanchard-Rogers Trophy presented by Hale's Jewelers Finalists:

  • Jake Bentley (QB/USC)                                                                                                                                                                                                              
  • P.J. Blazejowski (QB/Furman)
  • Austin Bryant (DE/Clemson)
  • Anthony Ellis (DE/Charleston Southern)
  • Kelly Bryant (QB/Clemson)
  • Poona Ford (Hilton Head, SC/DT/Texas)
  • Darius Leonard (LB/SC State)
  • Skai Moore (LB/USC)
  • Dorian O'Daniel (LB/Clemson)
  • Mason Rudolph (Rock Hill, SC/QB/Oklahoma St.)
  • Andre Stoddard (RB/Wofford)
  • Antonio Wilcox (RB/Furman)