Holloway named finalist for S.C. Football Hall of Fame 2016 Collegiate Player of the Year

Holloway named finalist for S.C. Football Hall of Fame 2016 Collegiate Player of the Year

GREENVILLE, S.C. – Charleston Southern senior running back Mike Holloway has been named one of 25 finalists for South Carolina Football Hall of Fame 2016 Collegiate Player of the Year. The award, in its fourth year, recognizes the best players from or in the state of South Carolina.

S.C. Football Hall of Fame

The award is determined by the online votes of SCFHOF members, media, the Board of Directors, Advisors, & Executive Team on www.scfootballhof.org. Voting is open until Dec. 11 and the award will be presented at the organization's Induction Ceremony on April 20, 2017. Fan can become members, vote and find out more information on this year's nominees at www.scfootballhof.org.

Holloway currently leads the nation, at the FCS level, with 9.66 yards per carry. He paces the Big South Conference in rushing yards per game (102.4), all-purpose yards per game (127.2) and scoring per game (10.0). Holloway passed Christian Reyes as CSU's all-time leader rusher against Coastal Carolina and has posted three 100-yard rushing efforts in five games this year.

This is the fourth year for the SCFHOF Collegiate Player of the Year award. Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson earned the honor last year. This year's list includes players from each of South Carolina's 13 college football programs.

The mission of the SCFHOF is to honor South Carolina football legends, help players transition to life beyond the game, improve player safety and promote the game of football and South Carolina.  The organization honors athletes, coaches, business, and media professionals connected to South Carolina who have made a significant and positive impact through football. It helps promote and support the game of football and those who play it. Their Business Connect program provides players with collective wisdom from football alumni to support and encourage their transition to life beyond football. They encourage the support of football and our community and annually present a Humanitarian of the Year Award.

2016 Collegiate Player of the Year Finalists in Alphabetical Order (Pos., School, Hometown)

  • Ben Boulware (LB, Clemson, Anderson)
  • Dee Delaney (DB, The Citadel, Seabrook)
  • Darius English (DE, U of SC, Powder Springs, GA)
  • Kendrick Frazier (LB, Benedict, Charleston)
  • Chad Geter (LB, Gardner-Webb, Irmo)
  • De'Angelo Henderson (RB, Coastal Carolina, Summerville)
  • Jamarcus Henderson (DE, Newberry, Union)
  • Mike Holloway (RB, Charleston Southern, Stone Mountain, GA)
  • Sam Houston (LB, North Greenville, Easley)
  • D.J. Jones (DT, Ole Miss, Greenville)
  • Chris Lammons (DB, U of SC, Lauderhill, FL)
  • Darius Leonard (LB, SC State, Lake View)
  • Khalil Lewis (RB, Gardner-Webb, Hilton Head)
  • Lorenzo Long (FB/RB, Wofford, Pensacola, FL)
  • Kamren Mack (DE, Presbyterian, Lithonia, GA)
  • Mason Rudolph (QB, Oklahoma St., Rock Hill)
  • Alex Scearce (LB, Coastal Carolina, Huntersville, NC)
  • Joshua Simmons (DB, Limestone, Moncks Corner)
  • Andrej Suttles (WR, Furman, Dallas, GA)
  • Carlos Watkins (DT, Clemson, Mooresboro, NC)
  • Deshaun Watson (QB, Clemson, Gainesville, GA)
  • Christian Wilkins (DL/FB, Clemson, Springfield, Mass.)
  • Kailik Williams (DB, The Citadel, Ormond Beach, FL)
  • Mike Williams (WR, Clemson, Vance)
  • Raleigh Yeldell (QB, Newberry, Edgefield)

View: Mobile | Desktop